RideTheWave2012 RDBN Business Forum – Ride the Wave

October 16 and 17, 2012 - Smithers

Facilitator: Taylor Bachrach, Mayor, Town of Smithers


"Ride the Wave"

2012BF1 2012BF2 2012BF3 2012BF4 2012BF5



8:00 a.m.

Check-in and Registration



8:30 a.m.


Official Welcome and Opening Remarks


Office of the Wet'suwet'en


Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako

Bill Miller, Chair


Town of Smithers


Forestry Panel

Facilitator: Larry McCulloch, LM Forest Resource Solutions Ltd, President


Ministry of Forest, Lands, and Natural Resource Operations

Kevin Kriese, Assistant Deputy Minister



Province of BC

John Rustad,

MLA, Nechako Lakes

Pacific Inland Resources

A division of West Fraser Mills Ltd.

Gord Gunson, Woods Manager


9:30 a.m.

Keynote Speaker – Sponsor: Oscar's Source for Adventure

Peter Tertzakian, Chief Energy Economist and Managing Director, ARC Financial

10:30 a.m.


NETWORKING BREAK Sponsor: Huckleberry Mine


Start-up Business Contest

Facilitator: Max Starr, Manager, Lending Services, Bulkley Valley Credit Union

2011 Start-up Business Contest Winner - Cheryl McRae, Owner, Dog Digs


Aspen Acres Culinaries & Eclectics

Lori Koop

Heavenly Grinds and Little Treasures Cafe

Sean Wright

Bare Hands Landscaping and Design

Mel Chesnutt

Silver Springs Recreation and Wellness

Kerry Buck

Investment Web Portals – Dean McKinley, Director of Economic Development, Northern Development Initiative Trust

Province of BC - Doug Donaldson, MLA, Stikine

12:00 p.m.


LUNCH Sponsor: Central Mountain Air


1:00 p.m.

Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako – Bill Miller, Chair


Tourism Panel

Facilitator: Gladys Atrill, Marketing Manager, Tourism Smithers


Northern BC Tourism

Jill Fisher,

Community Development and Travel Trade

Fort St. James National Historic Site

Kevin Gedling, Product Development Officer

Frontier Farwest

Derek Botchford, Owner

Marketing Yourself Online - Perry Cook, BC Manager, Galaxy Broadband Communications

2:20 p.m.





2:40 p.m.

Small Business Panel

Facilitator: Catheryn Olmstead, Executive Director, Smithers Community Service Association


McCormack Consulting

Kelly McCormack, Owner


Net-Zero Structures

Michael Sawyer, Owner


BV Home Centre

Joyce Vriend, Co-owner

Northwest Community College – Danielle Smyth, Project Administrator, School of Exploration and Mining

WorkBC – Jerenia Adolph, Director, Regional Operations, Employment& Labour Market Services

BC Hydro – Lesley Wood, Senior Stakeholder Relations Specialist

4:30 p.m.

Daily Draw (must be in attendance to win) Tradeshow Closes Ind

ividual Meetings with Presenters

6:00 p.m.

Gala Dinner / Announcement: Start-up Business Contest Winner


10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

or: Omineca Beetle Action Coalition

RDBN Business Forum – Overall Conference Sponsor: Rio Tinto Alcan

Facilitator: Taylor Bachrach, Mayor Town of Smithers

8:00 a.m.

Check-in and Registration


8:30 a.m.

Official Welcome and Opening Remarks

Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako

Bill Miller, Chair

Town of Smithers



Northern BC Real Estate Board – Jeremy Penninga, Calderwood Realty


Rio Tinto Alcan – Paul Henning, Vice-President, Strategic Projects Western Canada


9:30 a.m.

Keynote Speaker – Sponsor: Newpro

Neil Godin, President, Neil Godin International Inc.

10:30 a.m.

NETWORKING BREAK Sponsor: Huckleberry Mine


High Road Services Society – Leslie Bresser, Chief Operating Officer


Woodmere Nursery Ltd. – Joe Wong, Co-owner


Airport Panel

Facilitator: Liz Smaha, Marketing Manager, Hawkair

Smithers Regional Airport

Rob Blackburn

Airport Manager

Baker Airport, Burns Lake

Luke Strimbold,

Mayor, Village of Burns Lake

Vanderhoof Airport

Erin Siemens

EDO, District of Vanderhoof


Alta Gas – Dan Woznow, Vice-President Asset Management

12:00 p.m.

LUNCH Sponsor: Spectra Energy

12:55 p.m.

Vacation Draw – Two Airline Tickets to Vancouver – Sponsor: Hawkair (must be in attendance to win)

1:00 p.m.

Spectra Energy– Gary C. Weilinger, Vice-President, Strategic Development and External Affairs


Mining Panel

Facilitator: Jeff Kyba, Regional Geologist, Skeena District


Huckleberry Mine

Kent Christensen Vice General Manager




Seabridge Gold

Brent Murphy Vice-President

Environmental Affairs


UTM Exploration Services Kyler Hardy, President


2:10 p.m.


Neil Godin Workshop

4:15 p.m.

Daily Draw (must be in attendance to win)

4:30 p.m.

Tradeshow Closes


  SpectraEnergy   BCH-colour-logo



View Presentations for 2012